Welcome to the Greater Sudbury Climate Change Consortium

The Greater Sudbury Climate Change Consortium was established and officially endorsed by the municipal council in November, 2009, and subsequently by the City of Greater Sudbury Healthy Community Cabinet.

The Climate Change Consortium brings together various partners who have a stake in ensuring the City of Greater Sudbury is able to adapt to climate change impacts.  Our purpose is continuing to assess the potential impacts of climate change on industry, people, municipal infrastructure, and water resources.  Together, we can determine what adaptation strategies will be needed to address these impacts in the City of Greater Sudbury and its watersheds.

What we can expect in a Changing Climate

Scientists estimate that Ontario will warm an average of two to five degrees Celsius within the next 75 to 100 years.  Warming during the winter months is projected to be greater than during the summer months, and extreme events, such as floods, droughts, and storms will likely become more frequent and severe.  We may see a slight precipitation increase on an annual basis, with uncertain changes in seasonal distribution of precipitation.  More precipitation will fall as rain and less as snow. 

A shorter winter and longer summer is projected, with many more hot days compared to in the past.  As temperature and evaporation increase, there will be a reduction of the moisture content in the soil.  The rise in water temperature during heat waves will contribute to a decline in water quality. During winter months, there will be an increase in the frequency of freeze-thaw cycles.  For more information, visit our local resources page.

Focus on Adaptation

The Climate Change Consortium has a focus on developing adaptive capacity to better deal with the impacts of our changing climate.  We are committed to organizing people of more vulnerable groups so their voice is heard by governments.  We are developing adaptation strategies that ensure equitable access to water, healthy food, housing and access to health care (including public and mental health services).  We are developing a community-based planning process for adaptation to climate change that is systemic and not just event-driven. Our goal is to be proactive instead of reactive.

Guiding Principles

The Greater Sudbury Climate Change Consortium is committed to being:

  • science-based,
  • community-based,
  • transparent,
  • inclusive of all,
  • non-partisan, and
  • focused on action leading to climate change adaptation solutions.

With collaboration, we can work together to meet the challenges of a changing climate.

Search

New Information Update

Heat resilient Canadian and Communities Information Resources - Available 2012

Resource information outlines the best practices implemented in Canada and other countries and steps that communities can take to mitigate heathealth risks and promote heat resiliency among Canadians.

Please see our National Climate Science page for more information.

Conservation Sudbury

conservation sudbury

dwsp-logo

FLL-logo

conservation-ontario-logohealthy community-award

ndca

“Working with you...For our Environment...Our Future.”

Consortium sur les changements climatiques du Grand Sudbury

Le Consortium sur les changements climatiques du Grand Sudbury a été créé et appuyé officiellement par le conseil municipal en novembre 2009, puis par le Cabinet de Communauté en santé de la Ville du Grand Sudbury.

Le Consortium sur les changements climatiques rassemble divers partenaires qui ont intérêt à veiller à ce que la Ville du Grand Sudbury soit en mesure de s'adapter aux répercussions des changements climatiques. Nous avons comme objet de continuer à évaluer les répercussions des changements climatiques sur l'industrie, les personnes, l'infrastructure municipale et les ressources en eau. Ensemble, nous pouvons déterminer quelles stratégies d'adaptation seront nécessaires pour aborder ces répercussions dans la Ville du Grand Sudbury et dans ses bassins hydrographiques.

Ce que nous pouvons envisager dans un climat qui change

D'après les estimations scientifiques, la température en Ontario augmentera de deux à cinq degrés Celsius en moyenne au cours des 75 à 100 prochaines années. On prévoit une plus grande hausse de température au cours des mois de l'hiver comparativement aux mois de l'été, et il est probable que des événements extrêmes comme des inondations, des périodes de sécheresse et des orages seront plus fréquents et graves. Il se peut qu'on observe une légère augmentation du taux de précipitation annuel ainsi que des changements incertains dans la ventilation saisonnière des précipitations. Il y aura davantage de précipitations comme averses de pluie que de neige. 

Les prévisions annoncent un hiver raccourci et un été prolongé de même qu'un plus grand nombre de journées de chaleur intense en comparaison avec les années antérieures. À mesure qu'augmentent la température et le taux d'évaporation, on observera une diminution du taux d'humidité dans le sol. La hausse de la température de l'eau durant les vagues de chaleur entraînera une baisse de la qualité de l'eau. Au cours des mois d'hiver, les cycles de gel et de dégel seront plus fréquents. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur cette question, visitez notre page locale sur les ressources.

Accent sur l'adaptation

Le Consortium sur les changements climatiques se concentre sur le développement d'une capacité d'adaptation pour nous permettre de mieux composer avec les répercussions des changements climatiques. Nous nous engageons à organiser les membres des groupes plus vulnérables pour faire entendre leur voix par les gouvernements. Nous développons des stratégies d'adaptation qui assurent un accès équitable à l'eau, aux aliments sains, au logement et aux soins de santé (y compris les services de santé publique et les services de santé mentale). Nous développons un processus de planification communautaire pour l'adaptation aux changements climatiques qui est systémique et non déclenché simplement par un événement. Notre but est d'être proactif et non réactif.

Principes directeurs

Le Consortium sur les changements climatiques du Grand Sudbury s'engage à maintenir les caractéristiques suivantes:

  • Scientifique
  • Communautaire
  • Transparent
  • Inclusif
  • Non partisan
  • Axé sur des initiatives visant à s'adapter aux changements climatiques

Nous pouvons travailler en collaboration pour relever les défis qu'entraînent les changements climatiques.

Rechercher

Nouvelle mise à jour d'informations

Des Canadiens et des Communatutés Plus Résilients à La Chaleur. ressources D'Information - Disponible en 2012

Ce guide donne un aperçu des pratiques exemplaires appliquées au Canada et dans d'autres pays et expose les étapes que peuvent suivre les communautés pour atténuer les risques pour la santé liés à la chaleur et favoriser la résilience à la chaleur chez les Canadiens.

CLIQUEZ ICI si vous voulez de plus amples renseignements.

Conservation Sudbury

conservation sudbury

DWSP Logo fr

FOLL-logo-fr

conservation-ontario-logohealthy community-award

ndca

“Travaillons ensemble... Pour l'environnement... Notre avenir”